Top 5 Things to Know in the Market on Friday By Investing.com

© Reuters.

Investing.com – Here are the top five things you need to know in financial markets on Friday, May 3:

1. Jobs report set to dominate trade

Market focus on Friday will center on the April jobs report at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT), with a string of Federal Reserve policymakers also set to make remarks throughout the day.

Economists forecast the creation of while the is expected to stay at 3.8%.

Wages are predicted to rise, with climbing 0.3% for the month, pushing its to 3.3%

On Wednesday the Federal Reserve pointed to the employment picture as one reason it can remain patient either way on rates, saying in its statement that job gains “have been solid, on average, in recent months, and the unemployment rate has remained low.”

Analysts argue that an upbeat jobs report could drive the higher. The greenback has been bid solidly since Fed Chairman Jerome Powell’s press conference on Wednesday, where he played down recent soft inflation data and said he saw no reason to cut interest rates.

Read more: – Kathy Lien

Following the NFP release, Chicago Fed president will speak on global economies while a swarm of fellow policymakers – including Fed Vice Chairman , New York Fed chief , Fed governor , St. Louis Fed president , San Francisco Fed president , Dallas Fed chief and the head of the Cleveland Fed – will all participate in a panel on “Strategies for Monetary Policy” to be held in Stanford, California.

Although overshadowed by the jobs report, the Institute of Supply Management will also release its for April at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT).

2. Stocks recover ahead of jobs data

U.S. futures pointed to a recovery on Wall Street after Thursday’s negative close as investors braced for the monthly employment report.

The blue-chip gained 77 points, or 0.3% by 5:32 AM ET (9:32 GMT), while rose 10 points, 0.3%, and traded up 40 points, or 0.5%.

nearing midday trade Friday, helped in part by strong…

Source Link